Rainbow Chard

by missbabysunshine

The other day, I made Swiss Chard Casserol, which I posted on this blog and one of my friend asked me how to prepare them. (I raved to her about how good & healthy swiss chard is! since I’m new to this vegetable too… haha) Anyway, so I decided to make swiss chard for dinner and went to Whole Foods and guess what I found… Green, White and RAINBOW Chard… WHAT NOW right? But I couldn’t resist the rainbow chard!! The color was SO vibrant and it was just beautiful. I could’ve just stir fried it with olive oil and shallots, but where’s the fun in that? I decided to be brave and experiment. And I came up with this:

Rainbow Chard Gnocchi with
Spicy Coconut Cream Sauce

Doesn’t that just SOUND fantastic? Check out the colors!! It’s screaming “SPRING”! Supposedly Rainbow Chards are sweeter than the green & white ones. It turned out FANTASTIC!!! See recipe below! Oh, and here’s a link that tells you the nutritional value of Rainbow Chards.
http://www.truestarhealth.com/Notes/3592004.html

Rainbow Chard Gnocchi with Spicy Coconut Cream Sauce

Ingredients:
1 bunch of Rainbow Chard
[Leaves are washed and trimmed off the stems & Chopped in 1/2 in. slices]
[Stems are washed and chopped in 1/4 in. slices]
1 medium onion diced
1 package of Gnocchi (I used No Fat & No Cholesterol version)
1 can of Coconut Milk
2 TBSP Balsamic Vinegar
1/2 TBSP Salt
1 pinch of black peppers
1 small red hot pepper (de-seeded)

1. Pour out the coconut milk in to a deep sauce pan & bring it to boil & add salt & pepper
2. Add Rainbow Chard Stems & Onions and cook until soften
3. Add Balsamic Vinegar & red hot pepper
3. Add Rainbow Chard leaves & cook for 15min. under med. heat until the leaves are soft & lower the heat to simmer
4. Cook Gnocchi (Follow the package direction)
5. Mix #3 mixture and cooked & water strained Gnocchi

ENJOY!

