Kabocha Pumpkin Tart with Maple Flakes

by missbabysunshine

Today is my lazy Sunday. After spending hours catching up on my TV shows and playing with my new iphone,  I remembered about the recipe I had, which I’ve been meaning to try. It’s “Any Season Fruit (or Vegetable) Tart by Whitney Chen. This is one of the random recipes you get when you purchase something from Gilt Taste.

Check out my version of this tart, Kabocha pumkin with maple flakes.

It was simple to make and delicious! Perfect tart to make on a lazy Sunday.

Here’s the recipe for my version of the tart. I changed it up based on the ingredients I liked. The original recipe is by Whitney Chen, Contestant of Season 7’s Food Network Star & Contributing Editor for Gilt Taste . They also have pretty cool recipes on their site.

Kabocha Pumpkin Tart with Maple Flakes

For Roasted Kabocha Pumpkin
2 cups Kabocha pumpkin (diced in  ¾-inch cubes, I left a bit of  skin on for more nutrients, texture, and color)
1 Tbsp  brown sugar
1 Tbsp canola oil

For Tart

1 stick room temperature, unsalted butter
1 cup plus 1 Tbs sugar
2 eggs
1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
Zest from ½ a lemon
1 Tbs Maple Flakes
1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 325°F

Toss the kabocha pumpkin with brown sugar and canola oil and bake in the oven on a baking sheet for 15 min. at 325°F before adding it to the tart batter.

Cream together the butter and 1 cup of sugar with an electric mixer until pale in color. Add the eggs and maple syrup and mix. Combine the flour, baking powder, salt and zest in a separate bowl. In two batches, fold the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.

Pour the batter into a greased 9-inch baking dish. Dot the batter with baked kabocha pumpkins and gently press halfway into the tart. You can be as generous or as sparse as you wish with the toppings, but do not put more than a single layer of kabocha pumpkins.

Sprinkle Cinnamon, Sugar, and Maple flakes evenly over the top of the tart. Bake for about 45 minutes or until the crust is golden.

www.missbabysunshine.com

